2020 Annual Report

From 7 founders
around a campfire to 40,000+ MEMBERS

Dear Friends

Despite unprecedented challenges and a difficult new landscape for grassroots conservation advocacy, we continued our momentum in 2020 and secured landmark wins for conservation, public access and fair chase hunting and fishing in Congress and across North America.

Top image by Ben Herndon

A message from BHA President and CEO Land Tawney

We’re proud of the milestones we reached in 2020



who wrote


Letters to decision makers


Public lands hunters and anglers

supported chapters in


states, two Canadian provinces, and one territory and the District of Columbia


miles were hiked

for conservation by BHA members and supporters, raising $65,000 for our mission


bags of trash were removed from our public lands and waters


College Clubs

led 50 boots-on-the-ground

service projects

Top Hits

Chapter Accomplishments


Financial Statement

Backcountry Hunters and Anglers is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization that relies on private donations for our organization’s work on public lands. BHA is fiscally transparent and strives to be efficient in our everyday work. In Fiscal Year 2020 our revenue was $5,076,038 and expenses were $4,211,715. We directed 90 percent of our own budget to programs and 10 percent to administration and fundraising. Backcountry Hunters and Anglers’ tax ID is 20-1037177.

Support and Revenue
Grant Revenue $1,907,757
Events and Miscellaneous $813,908
Membership $1,110,607
Donations and Interest $590,738
Business Sponsorship $319,360
Merchandise $333,668
Total Revenue $5,076,038
Program Expenses $3,791,431
Management and General $176,075
Fundraising $244,209
Total Expenses $4,211,715
Change in Net Assets $864,323

Statement of Activities, Year Ended December 31, 2020

Corporate Partners

  • Alpacka Raft
  • Benchmade Knife Co.
  • Black Coffee Roasting Co.
  • Camp Chef
  • Crispi
  • Danner
  • Eukanuba
  • Federal
  • Filson
  • First Lite
  • Gerber Gear
  • goHunt
  • Montana Mex
  • Mountain Top Motor Co.
  • Mystery Ranch
  • Nemo Equipment
  • New Belgium Brewing
  • NRS
  • onX Maps
  • Passalacqua Winery
  • RepYourWater
  • Savage Arms
  • Seek Outside
  • Sitka
  • Stanley
  • Stone Glacier
  • Traeger Grills
  • Victory Archery
  • Vortex Optics
  • Weatherby
  • Weston
  • Wilderness Athlete
  • Wilderness Lite Ultralite Float Tubes
  • Yeti

Board Members

Current as of December 2020

  • Ted Koch (Idaho) Chair
  • J.R. Young (California) Vice Chair
  • Michael Beagle President Emeritus
  • T. Edward Nickens (North Carolina) Secretary
  • Jeffrey Jones (Alabama) Treasurer
  • Ben Bulis (Montana)
  • Ryan Callaghan (Montana)
  • Bill Hanlon (British Columbia)
  • Hilary Hutcheson (Montana)
  • Heather Kelly (Alaska)
  • Tom McGraw (Michigan)
  • Ben O’Brien (Montana)

Staff Members

Current as of July 2021

  • Land Tawney, President and CEO
  • Tim Brass, State Policy and Field Operations Director
  • John Gale, Conservation Director
  • Frankie McBurney Olson, Operations Director
  • Katie McKalip, Communications Director
  • Rachel Schmidt, Innovative Alliances Director
Chapters and Programs
  • Tim Brass, State Policy and Field Operations Director
  • Trey Curtiss, R3 Coordinator
  • Katie DeLorenzo, Western Regional Manager and Southwest Chapter Coordinator
  • Kevin Farron, Montana Chapter Coordinator
  • Chris Hennessey, Eastern Regional Manager and Chapter Coordinator
  • Ace Hess, Idaho and Nevada Chapter Coordinator
  • Josh Kaywood, Southeast Chapter Coordinator
  • Jacob Mannix, Alaska Chapter Coordinator
  • Morgan Mason, Armed Forces Initiative Coordinator
  • Jason Meekhof, Great Lakes Chapter Coordinator
  • Devin O'Dea, California Chapter Coordinator
  • Jesse Salsberry, Northwest Chapter Coordinator and Video Production Assistant
  • Kylie Schumacher, Collegiate Club Coordinator
  • Josh Stratton,Great Plains Chapters Coordinator
  • Ty Stubblefield, Chapter Coordinator and New Chapter Development
  • Brien Webster, Program Manager and Colorado and Wyoming Chapter Coordinator
  • John Gale, Conservation Director - Policy and Government Relations
  • Kaden McArthur, Government Relations Coordinator
  • Rob Parkins, Public Access Coordinator
  • Katie McKalip, Communications Director
  • Travis Bradford, Video Production and Graphic Design Coordinator
  • Thomas Plank, Communications Coordinator
  • Zack Williams, Backcountry Journal Editor
  • Robert Yagid, Digital Media Coordinator
  • Rachel Schmidt, Innovative Alliances Director
  • Grant Alban, Development Coordinator
  • Josh Mills, Development Coordinator
  • Frankie McBurney Olson, Operations Director
  • Britney Fregerio, Controller
  • Caitlin Frisbie, Operations Associate and Special Assistant to the President
  • Kate Mayfield, Office Manager
  • Ryan Silcox, Membership Coordinator
  • Dylan Snyder, Operations Assistant